Dalí Theatre-Museum


The embryo of the Theatre-Museum project started at the beginning of the 'sixties. Ramon Guardiola, mayor of Figueres at the time, asked Salvador Dalí to donate a work for the Museu de l'Empordà. Dalí's reply came quickly: he would donate to Figueres not just a single work, but an entire museum. The place in which the Dalinian project was to be located, as a specific wish of the artist, was the former Municipal Theatre of Figueres. Destroyed in a fire at the end of the Spanish Civil War, the building had been reduced to its peripheral structure. The ceiling of the orchestra pit had collapsed; of the boxes there remained only the access corridors to them and to the stage, the arch of the stage mouth and the side stores; the entrance hall and the rest room were the only parts that remained more or less intact. The artist planned to take advantage of the spectral charm offered by the ruins of the former theatre in order to house the future museum.

Inaugurated in 1974, the Dalí Theatre-Museum is considered to be the last great work of Salvador Dalí. Everything in it was conceived and designed by the artist so as to offer visitors a real experience and draw them into his unique and captivating world.

The Dalí Theatre-Museum's collection allows the visitors to capture the artistic journey of Salvador Dalí (1904-1989) through a broad spectrum of works. Walking through the exhibition rooms allows visitors to capture Dalí's  first artistic experiences, surrealism, nuclear mysticism and  passion for science, and guide them to the works of the last part of his life. The various collections of the Gala-Salvador Dalí Foundation include all types of works of art: paintings, drawings, sculptures, engravings, installations, holograms, stereoscopes, photography, etc. Among them  1,500 works are  exhibited  at the Dalí Theatre-Museum of Figueres. 

The installations inside the central courtyard of the museum were designed by Dali to be core pieces in the museum. There are two mannequins sitting in the back seat of Dali’s 1941 Cadillac, supposedly once owned by Al Capone. By inserting a coin, rain falls inside the car. The bronze statue on the Cadillac is of Queen Esther by Austrian sculptor, Ernst Fuchs, but it may be representative of Dali’s sister.

In the Mae West Room, visitors have to climb a small set of stairs and look through a sort of circular magnifying glass. Through the glass, the isolated objects in the room would form the face of actress Mae West. 

Entrance of the Museum

Lincoln’s portrait on the wall, a naked woman can be seen at close distance

Jewelry designed by Dalí

Jewelry designed by Dalí